The Tweeting Never Ends

One thing I have learned is that twitter never gets old. No matter how many times I go on twitter, there is always new information to help prepare me for my future as a teacher. One tweet that caught my attention this week was one that described ways to be a 21st century teacher.

 

Like most of my other tweets, this one was linked to a blog post. The post discussed 27 ways to be a 21st century teacher. One idea that stood out to me was the idea that it takes more to be a 21st century teacher than just integrating the computer lab into the computer lab. Furthermore, “classrooms should look nothing like a computer lab that we’ve come to know and instead should resemble a set of grouped students collaborating, learning with each other, and having a ‘guide on the side’ teacher who helps steer the proverbial ship”.The article then provides a chart with 27 easy tips to be a better 21st century teacher. Some tips include, making content real-life relatable, let students use their cell phones, collaborate with a variety of teachers, and a lot more! I will definitely look back at this list when I have a classroom of my own to make sure I am taking the necessary steps to be a 21st century teacher.

The next tweet I decided to write about is a tweet that had an article discussing how when students have the opportunity to add technology and be inflectional the results are powerful.

 

This article discussed a school district near my hometown that use “authentic learning” which is an “instructional paradigm through which educators help students master their curriculum at a very high level through real projects and real problem solving”. Furthermore, students have one-to-one devices, “and through them, -access to information- makes a tremendous difference in achieving our vision of what students learning looks like”. This approach to education is just starting to be seen more, but it seems like the effects of it are well worth the switch. The article then describes the overview steps of how to make this schools district experience your own. The steps the article highlights are, establish a solid foundation, create enthusiasm, turn students into experts, foster objectivity, and coordinate interactions. With these tips in mind, schools can successfully transition to “authentic learning”. Personally, I really like the idea of –one-to-one devices, so this article really interested me. I definitely am interested to see what my future school districts approach is and if this type of learning is more widespread when I am a teacher.

The last tweet I chose to blog about discusses ways teachers can connect to their students.

 

This post is applicable to all teachers, because connecting to ones students is something all teachers should do. From personal experience, when teachers connect with their students, it makes learning much more enjoyable and memorable. Remember details about each student and treating them like the individual they are is key. Some tips the article gave are create relationships first, connect with students every day, be interested in their stuff, frequent the sidelines, and be their champion. These simple tips can really make all the different. The better the teacher-student connections are, the better the educational results will be.

Leave a Reply

